Just a Little Bit of Poetry

Release

A cool rush of air upon my arms,

A shivering light shining on paper,

My hand trembling against the pencil’s curves,

Scars on my heart.

Get it down

Let it loose

Release

Lead flows from pencil to paper,

Staining the crisp white sheets,

Leaving memories,

Of things I wish to rip out of me,

To not remember. 

Get it down

Let it loose

And release  

Lines over lines,

Crisscrossing in a mesmerizing pattern,

I could get lost,

In words and phrases,

In diction and rhythm,

I wish I could get lost.

Get it down

And let it loose

And release

Tears leaking through my closed eyes,

Against my will,

But my hand still moves,

Forming stories of long-lost memories,

Things I want to lock out,

Never remember,

Just — forget

And get it down

And let it loose

And release

~ J. Dominique

Ask, Question, Query, Respond, Answer, Reply, State, Comment, Speak, Say Anything You Want! I’d Love to Hear Your Words!

