Update and Sneak Peeks of Books 1-3

I’m in the middle of writing Book Three of a five-book series I’m working on. I’m about 30,000 words in and so far, it’s the best first draft I’ve written! I’m really excited to finish writing out my first drafts of each book (I hope to be done by December!), so as a bit of a sneak peak, I’ve decided to share the blurbs I’ve written out for each book. The first three, that is. I haven’t written ones out for Book Four or Five.

Tell me what you think, and, if you happened to pick this up at Barnes and Noble, if you’d buy it or at least order it from the library.

Book One: “Selyn is about to be Named: A chance to turn her life around and to truly become a part of her land. But right before the Naming ceremony, Selyn is captured by the notorious Silverset — an unlikely danger who turns out to be a boy the same age she herself is.

Silverset offers her a deal: Help him regain his memories or let the world fall into turmoil. Selyn might be smarter and more practical than she is brave, but her determination to get back to her family — alive — is greater than Silverset could’ve reckoned with. So Selyn agrees to aid him, a deciding choice that thrusts her into the world that she thought she knew. But as her journey continues, Selyn begins to question herself and her new partner. How could someone, no older than she, commit so many crimes and be responsible for innumerable sorrow?

With the help of a thief, a bodyguard, and a strange creature, Selyn might just be able to escape . . . or will she choose to stay and help Silverset in his quest for the impossible?”

Book Two: “Selyn has finally fallen back into the routine of life, but just when she thinks things are back to normal, Val Silverset, the boy who whisked her away on an adventure a few months ago, reappears.

Deciding to help him once again, Selyn and Val travel to Cadra, the home of the infamous Awakening Trials, a game of deadly potential. There, they find more than they bargained for: possible friends, fatal danger, and the discovery of who they really are inside.”

Book Three: “Selyn Lightfall might wish things were going back to normal, but inside she knows better than that. When she receives shocking news about Val Silverset, she once again sets out on a quest to save the world — and to save Val.

With new friends, old enemies, and dangerous lands to explore, Selyn’s bravery, intelligence, and power is being put to the test. Who will she trust? Who can she trust?”

Soooo, what do you think? Picture me jumping up and down waiting for your replies right now. Because that’s what I’m doing. Honestly.

Do the blurbs successfully introduce the protagonist, Selyn? Do they establish the main plot, tension, desire, need, the opposition, and the stakes?

Tell me what you think! (That, I positively screamed).

~ J. Dominique

9 thoughts on “Update and Sneak Peeks of Books 1-3

  1. Congratulations on completing your drafts! I know how thrilling that is.
    I really love the names you chose for the characters mentioned in these blurbs. They’re new/unique, but don’t suggest that you’re trying too hard to stand out. It’s a great balance of “Hey, my story’s different!” and “You can trust me.” That’s an achievement in itself.
    I probably would pick up these books in the store. They seem to fall right in my alley of paranormal/fantasy teen romance (what I like to read and write). The blurbs certainly capture the plot–mainly the tensions that make the characters’ interactions worthy of being written about. There are instances where certain terminology that is vital to the story presents readers with a sense of “Well, what is that?” What I mean is that while the plot in its basic skeleton of themes–action, trust (and lack of), love, and perseverance–is very clear, the reader won’t know what you’re referring to by “Naming,” “truly [becoming] part of her land,” (what land?) or “Awakening Trials” until they’ve read at least the first novel–maybe even the second or third depending on when the characters arrive at those plot points. So the decision must be made: is the vague/undefined a source of intrigue that will get a summary-reader to be a novel-reader, or is it a source of ambiguity masquerading as mystery which might turn a reader off? I don’t have an answer to that particular question. It really depends on the levels of suspense and intrigue present throughout the rest of your book. If the summary sets a mood of suspense and gives the reader a case of the “gotta-knows,” then that feeling has to carry from summary to the end of the novel. If your stories do that, then I’d say the undefined terms in the blurbs will serve your audience well.
    Just my two cents, and very respectfully submitted. I admire the ambition in writing a five-book series, and I envy even more the planning skills to actually carry it out as you have!

  2. Oo I really like this! This sounds awesome!!!!

    The only thing I suggest is this part in the blurb for Book 1 “an unlikely danger who turns out to be a boy the same age she herself is.”
    Maybe change it to something else that’s surprising about him, something that’s not about his age? Maybe about any powers he has or something? (Went braid dead midway through typing this, haha).
    Other than that I love all of these and I really want to read them! Awesome job 🙂

  3. Nice! I think overall the blurbs do a good job of capturing a potential reader’s attention. I agree with the previous two comments on how to improve them, and I think the blurb for Book 1 can be further streamlined. A reader doesn’t need to know too many details by reading the back cover or jacket flap–just enough to be a hook. For example, I don’t know that this line is necessary: “How could someone, no older than she, commit so many crimes and be responsible for innumerable sorrow?” It’s already stated that he’s notorious, and from his threatening Selyn with an ultimatum I think it’s hinted enough that would have a history rife with crime.

    A website that might help you with this is Query Shark (http://queryshark.blogspot.com/). The goal of the website is a little different (she critiques query letters that people submit), but I think much of her advice can also apply to a cover blurb situation.

Ask, Question, Query, Respond, Answer, Reply, State, Comment, Speak, Say Anything You Want! I’d Love to Hear Your Words!

