Sometimes You Just Have to Get Serious

In my last post, I talked about relaxing. Now, I’m going to talk about putting your nose to the grind.

First off, why do you need to get serious with your writing?

Well, if you don’t, you’re never going to get anywhere. I think most of us can agree with that, yes? Also, you might be lax in your writing: “Oh, I need to do this . . . but I’m so tired.” This is a type of form of writer’s block; not the typical one, but a form of it. Others are laziness, procrastination, lack of priority.

Most of us want to get serious with our writing. But sometimes we just can’t find the time, the effort, or the need. But here I am to tell you: If you want any sort of future with your writing, get serious.

Here’re my tips to getting serious.

1. Is it worth it?
In one of my posts, I talked about deciding whether or not you story is worth it. This is the first step to getting serious: deciding if you want, need, can, and should get serious.

2. Create a daily quota. “I will write two pages every day”; “I will write 1,000 words every day”; “I will write for one hour every day.” Whatever your quota is, you must have one. It helps. Believe me.

3. Put writing first on your priority list.
A nice way to do this is to set a schedule: I will write at this block of time every day. That way, when people ask you to go out and see a movie, you can actually say, “Sorry, I already have something planned.” If that doesn’t work for you, try treating writing like it’s your job. It’s not a hobby, something you do for fun or for creative exercise: it’s a job. And we all know jobs are on a higher priority than going to see a movie.

4. Tell people about your writing.
You need accountability. So tell the whole world that YOU are getting SERIOUS about your WRITING. You are someday going to be published! In doing this, when people ask you if you’re still writing, you can smile, and say, “Yes, I am,” because you know that their hopes rest on you — and you don’t want to disappoint them. So you write for them.

5. Continue to remind yourself why it is “worth it.”
We all lose heart sometimes. We all just lose it sometimes, too. What you need to remember that it is worth it, and someday, you will see that. It might not be now, it might not be soon, but someday, it will happen.

These are the first steps every aspiring writer needs to take, whether they are a teenager, an adult, or a great-great-grandparent. If you want to get anything out of writing, get serious.

Thank you for reading. I hope this was beneficial to you.

~ J. Dominique

Ask, Question, Query, Respond, Answer, Reply, State, Comment, Speak, Say Anything You Want! I’d Love to Hear Your Words!

