Update and a Poem

Hello, everyone!

It’s been a while since I’ve updated and I feel terrible. Because it’s been so long, this will just be an update post and as a bonus, a poem. I’ll try to post in a couple weeks with something more, though.

So, it’s NaNoWriMo month! Are any of you doing NaNoWriMo? I did NaNo for both Camps this year and I’m doing it this month. Although, it is going a bit slow for me. I hope to reach 50,000 by the end of this week, though. I’m rebelling this month and doing a mix of writing a rough draft of a story, editing my series, and planning three different stories. Yes, it’s a lot, I know. But it’s fun, nonetheless.

I took a break from writing, which is part of the reason why I haven’t posted in so long. It was a terrible case of Writer’s Block, but NaNoWriMo has helped me get out of it. Also, I think I kind of needed the break because my mind was dead for the first two months during it — meaning, I barely thought about my story at all because I’d worked my brain overtime. And then, two months ago, I started getting ideas for stories every day. Aha! My brain is awake again. It reminded me why I’d started writing in the first place, that rush of ideas.

So, yes, breaks can sometimes be detrimental to your writing, but often are needed. Though I wouldn’t always recommend a three month-long break. That’s right. I didn’t write at all for three months. I felt like an awful non-writer. But ultimately, it did help me be more fresh with writing my stories.

Anyway, that’s what’s been up with me these last few months. I’m still working on my series, doing a lot of character developments and working on some holes in my plot. I’ll probably end up having to rewrite the whole series, but oh well. We’re writers! We all know that the first draft will never be the final draft.

Without further ado, here is my bonus. This is one of my favorite poems that I’ve ever written: it’s titled “Strike My Soul.” Hope you guys like it!

It starts when I see you in the distance,
Far-off, at first, only thunder I hear,
Then clouds twist in, a beautiful romance,
With all my veins, and every single fear.

Lightning, oh, lightning, please strike near my heart,
Slice me in pieces till there’s nothing more,
Send your blinding light to shatter me ’part,
Lightning, make sure there’s nothing to restore.

Make me anew, no longer can I fall,
Through my muscles, your crystal sheen can rip,
Your sweet incandescence become my all,
Make me a path in which I cannot slip.

Connect me to life, then sever the thread,
Give me electricity, make me kneel,
Obliterate the life I once had led,
And once you’re done, there’s nothing left to heal.

To those who tried to destroy me with words,
No longer do you have the upper hand,
Your time’s up, now we’re all moving forwards,
A new era is here, run while you can.

And now with the power of loss and pain,
I’ll make you all cry in the thunder’s roll,
I am a beauty, tangled with the rain,
But this metamorphosis takes its toll.

After the days of my ruining haze,
I raise my regret as bright as fire’s blaze.

~ J. Dominique

4 thoughts on “Update and a Poem

Ask, Question, Query, Respond, Answer, Reply, State, Comment, Speak, Say Anything You Want! I’d Love to Hear Your Words!

