August Update — New Plans!

This post is just going to be an update on what I’ve been up to this summer (not much), and what I’m planning to do these following months. I hope that posting this online will help keep me accountable!

These next few months are very important for me, both as a student and a writer. I am currently sixteen years old and entering my last year of high school — approximately this time next year I’ll be in college. Scary, huh? I’m a little excited, a little apprehensive.

Either way, though, I’m sure college is going to be harder on me than high school currently is. In fact, I’d say I have it pretty easy right now. I don’t have a lot of extracurricular activities and my school load is light. I have plenty of time right now to write. So to say I need to be getting quite a bit done during this last year is an understatement. Of course, I need to make time for writing in college as well, but I also want to make the most of the time I have now.

Lately, I haven’t been writing much. Not because of lack of inspiration — I’ve had plenty, and I’ve wanted to write. The problem is that the stage I’m in right now is editing. And while I don’t hate editing . . . I don’t exactly like it. It’s a bit tedious to me. Of course, I understand that it’s a necessary part of the writing process.

Anyway, the other night I was rereading through my story to get a better handle on it so I could reorganize my plot when I realized something: I drafted this story a year and a half ago. My writing ability has gotten a lot better since then. My story, also, has developed a lot since then. Simply put, it would be much easier for me to completely rewrite/redraft the whole series than to try and edit what I have. I’m not quite sure why this didn’t occur to me earlier.

And you know what? I’m really excited about this. I know that I’m going to have to edit later on, and I’ll get to that then, but soon I’ll be able to enjoy actually writing, and that makes me super happy.

So what I’m going to do now is review what I currently have, map out a new plotline to use, further develop my characters and world, and hopefully by the time NaNoWriMo comes around this November, I’ll be prepared to start drafting anew my series. It’s doable, definitely. This week, I’ve gotten more work done that I have all summer (basically, all I got done this summer was watching anime and reading books, but hey, I don’t usually get summers off, okay? — yeah, yeah, I know, no excuse).

How are you and all your writing endeavors going? Has there ever been a point when you’ve realized that you need to stop pushing yourself so hard and start from scratch again (and in a different situation, perhaps)? It can be tough sometimes, or sometimes it can be relieving. As writers, we have to make some tough decisions.

There ends my update — I hope you all are doing well! Keep on writing and having fun with it!

~ J. Dominique

7 thoughts on “August Update — New Plans!

  1. I’ve rewritten one of my stories in its entirety twice now. I got caught in the same trying to edit, but not really getting much done loop with my first novel length work. It wasn’t until I set it aside and finished my second novel length project (the one that I’ve now rewritten twice) that I realized it probably would have been best to just rewrite it instead of the “editing” I had been doing, which mostly entailed editing grammar and nothing else.

    Now I’ve set that second project aside for the moment and have started edits on the fourth novel length project I’ve finished. It’s the first one I’ve looked at and realized that it doesn’t need to be entirely rewritten because I actually had a firm grasp on the plot from the beginning for once.

    • This story was the third novel I wrote, but the first series. I think I jumped in a little too quickly without planning enough — or perhaps I did need to draft, plan more, and then draft again. (Sometimes, there’s inspiration you can only get through plain writing.)

      Thanks for the comment! I hope your story/editing goes well!

      • I have yet to attempt to write a series. All of my current works are standalones (though some have series potential).

        I’ve started using the “plan some then draft some repeat until finished” tactic for my last couple drafts because I it’s hard to stay on track with my outline longer than that, but without an outline nothing gets written. It’s worked well for me, but then everyone is different.

        You’re welcome, and thank you!

      • Whenever I have an idea that’s still fairly new, I’m always like, “Now, I’m going to seriously plan everything out for this story! No plot holes!” Of course, that’s naive. I get tired of plotting and end up drafting with a fairly decent outline but nothing like I imagined in the first place. Usually, I also like to leave myself some room for creativity without totally being constrained by the outline.

        Almost all of my stories are series unless they’re contemporary romances, which is probably ambitious of me, haha. But I like how series allows you to develop more. Even though that’s a bunch more work.

      • Usually I have a vague outline for the whole thing and a very detailed outline for part 1. When I get to the end of part 1 I write a detailed outline of part two and repeat again for part 3.

        I do intend to write a series in the future, but my first drafts tend to be very short. It’s hard enough for me to revise them so they’re actually a decent length. I just can’t see myself feeling compelled to write a series in the near future as often times whatever I originally intended to be the plot of the sequel goes into my current project because otherwise it would be too short.

        Companion novels though, I have some more immediate plans for.

      • That sounds like it’d work out well. Especially for a story that’s split into more noticeable parts, a clear beginning, middle, and end, and such.

        Most of my first drafts are usually short, too, but that’s generally because I don’t include a lot of detail and world-building, but rather story and action (and I’m awful at action scenes, so they’re always really short).

        Companion novels are so cool! I have ideas for those as well, haha.

      • Yes, part of the reason my first drafts are short is definitely a need for more description and world-building, but even after I add all that my works are still on the shorter end of the novel spectrum.
        Yes, I have ideas for companion novels set in the same world, but with different characters that can be read without the first because there is just so much more to some of the worlds I’ve created than can be explored in one book.

Ask, Question, Query, Respond, Answer, Reply, State, Comment, Speak, Say Anything You Want! I’d Love to Hear Your Words!

